4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 11, 2012 1:30 PM by MichaelTaylor

Serial numbers

MichaelTaylor

Title

Serial numbers

Hi everyone,  I am new to Filemaker.  Can anyone help please?

I want to create a DB for my photos but one which can give a serial number for each print fron each specific image.  The first stage  ~ serial or iD number for each image is fine but how do I then create a serial number for each print from each image?  That can then be used for limited edition prints, tracking sales, etc

Jasper

• 1. Re: Serial numbers
          philmodjunk

It depends on what you want for a serial number. A table where a new record is created each time you create a print could contain an auto-entered serial number--but this will not be a sequential number such as: 1, 2, 3 for photo 1 and then 1, 2, 3 for Photo 2. Instead, you'd get: 1, 2, 5 for Photo 1 and 3, 4, 6 for Photo 2 or some such single series of serial number values.

A separate number series for each image is possible, but takes additional work to set up.

What kind of serial numbering scheme did you have in mind?

And is this a single user database or one where there might be more than one user documenting the creation of new prints at the same time?

• 2. Re: Serial numbers
            MichaelTaylor

Hi Phil & thank you.

it will be a single user database.  

The numbering MUST be sequential for each image.  I had worked out how to do the alternative (as in your example above) but that will not give the results I need.  I would then want to use the numbering to track prints, sales, stock, etc.

The numbering I had in mind was Image number (eg 120) followed by a print number (eg.  1, 2, 3, etc) ~ 120/5 perhaps?  That way the the number becomes a product code that can be applied to labels and used to track prints, especially limited edition prints.  Am open to suggestions for better systems.  As I said I'm new to Filemaker and have only used Access at a low level before.

• 3. Re: Serial numbers