7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 13, 2011 11:25 AM by aammondd

Set Primary Key

Ira

Title

Set Primary Key

I am new to FileMaker Pro.  I have used Access for years and have always set my own primary key for setting up one-to-many relationships.  It seems that FileMaker Pro does not allow a user to set a primary key.  For example, it makes sense to me to allow employee number to be the primary key for my employee table.  Is this possible in FileMaker Pro?  Thank you.

• 1. Re: Set Primary Key
          philmodjunk

You don't have a button that looks like a key that you can click to make that field the primary key, but you can define a field as an auto-entered serial number field and prohibit user modification of this value. The functional result in FileMaker is that you have made this field the primary key for your table and you can use it as such in relationships.

• 2. Re: Set Primary Key
            Ira

First of all, thank you very much for your response.  But I must ask a follow up please:

If I have been uniquely identifying employees and products with my own unique number, are you saying I cannot do that in FileMaker Pro?  How would I construct queries? (Assuming that I can perform Select (and other SQL-type) queries in FM: I have not gotten that far).  I would prefer to use my company's numbering system and not have to use an application's auto generated number.  It is VERY possible that I am missing something here in my basic understanding of database relationships (referential integrity)?  It makes more sense to me to set my own primary key.  Thank you for your patience and your answer!

• 3. Re: Set Primary Key
              LaRetta_1

"It makes more sense to me to set my own primary key. "