3 Replies Latest reply on May 19, 2010 10:59 AM by philmodjunk

Setting up a basic inventory

info@fernpub.ca

Title

Setting up a basic inventory

Hi. I'm fairly new to FMP and just got FMP 11. I'm trying to coordinate an inventory db I've created with a pre-existing invoice db. Basically, I can't figure out how to link the two files, and more importantly how to make the items sold in the invoices be taken out of the inventory file. I'm sure it's super basic, but I haven't been able to find instructions on how to do this anywhere, so any advice will be greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: Setting up a basic inventory
          philmodjunk

What structure have you set up in your inventory file? One record for each product?

Instead, you can set up your inventory file like an accounting register with a field for adding items to inventory and a field for removing them. Each record in this table represents a change in inventory (items received, sold, lost, destroyed, etc.). Summary fields can then compute the amount on hand for you.

WIth this structure you can use the inventory table as your line items table that your invoice links to and uses a portal to edit. Then completing an invoice automatically deducts the items sold from your inventory.

Search this forum for threads with "inventory log" and you'll find several that discus this approach.

• 2. Re: Setting up a basic inventory
            info@fernpub.ca

The inventory file is one record = one product. I just used the inventory template that comes with FMP and edited the layout accordingly.

I'm a bit confused about what the inventory log table will look like, what fields to include etc... 

Can I still use the inventory db I have created, or do I need to make a new one from scratch?

Thanks for your help! Sorry for being pretty clueless, I'm learning as I go.

• 3. Re: Setting up a basic inventory
              philmodjunk