6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 20, 2011 1:02 PM by JoshGurfinkel

Setting up a portal

JoshGurfinkel

Title

Setting up a portal

I'm still pretty new to FM, so forgive me for this really basic question, but I'm having difficulty figuring out how to create a portal.

Here are the basic steps I've been following:

1) I create 2 new tables in the database, TEST1 and TEST2

2) I create a field in TEST1 called "firstname" and another field in TEST2 called "FirstName".

3) I create a relationship between the two tables, linking those two fields together.

4) In my TEST1 layout, I have an edit box for entering content for the firstname field.

5) In my TEST2 layout, I create a portal containing the field "firstname" from table TEST1.

After creating new records on the TEST1 layout and entering firstname information, nothing is displayed in the portal in my TEST2 layout.  I'm sure I'm making some really dumb mistake, but I'm not sure what that might be.  Can anyone help me out?

• 1. Re: Setting up a portal
          philmodjunk

At what point in your process did you create records in Test2 with first name values that match what you entered in Test1?

BTW, using names in a relationship--except for certain applications intended to make your user interface work better--is not a good idea. Names are not unique and people change their names--both situations that can cause problems when a relationship is based on names.

• 2. Re: Setting up a portal
            JoshGurfinkel

I did not.  The only reason I created a first name field for TEST2 was so that I could link the two tables, so that I could have a portal to TEST1 on a seperate layout.

What I'd like to arrange, ultimately, is one layout for creating e-mail lists (each record would have a list title, and then a name and e-mail address), and another layout to display all the list titles (using a portal). If that makes any sense.