6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 31, 2013 1:30 PM by cinderjack

Setting up Data Entry forms using multiple tables

cinderjack

Title

Setting up Data Entry forms using multiple tables

(I've tried searching on this, but not sure I'm using the right syntax)

I'm new to FM Pro and am just setting up my data entry forms.  I have 2 tables (Client_Visit and Client) that I need to use on my main data entry form.  I'll be entering the visit date (easy enough) and then I need to select the Client from the Client table before entering the rest of the details about the particular visit.  I'm just not clear on how to set that up to pull up the Client information.  I have a ClientIDPK (joined to ClientIDFK in Client_Visit) and then I have separate fields for First Name and Last Name.  What's the best way to look up the Client record to relate to the particular Client_Visit record?

• 1. Re: Setting up Data Entry forms using multiple tables
          philmodjunk

There are many options and no one "best way" as each offers a different set of advantages and draw backs.

One very simple way is to add a portal to ClientVisits on your Clients layout. If you enable "Allow creation of records via this relationship" for clientVisits, you can log a new client visit just by entering data into a blank row in the portal.

From a layout based on ClientVisits, you can format the clientIDfk field with a drop down list or pop up menu of clientID's and Client Names. You'd select the "use values from a field" option and specify the ID field for field 1 and a name field for field 2. The name field may need to combine first and last names and if so, it should be setup as a text field with an auto-entered calculation that combines the first and last names. This field should also have a unique values validation field option specified to avoid problems with your value list.