7 Replies Latest reply on May 20, 2009 3:45 AM by Jade

Setting up my database - Please help

loudegg

Title

Setting up my database - Please help

I really need some quick help on this one because I am new to Filemaker. Say i want to create and invoices.fp7  and a clients.fp7. 

On invoices i have:

Name:

Phone:

Company:

Price:

On clients i have:

Name:

Phone:

Company:

I tried many ways of creating table relationships between the 2 files but they dont sync?  If the fields in Name, Phone, Company on both files have a = relationship shouldnt it ne when i enter a new invoice a new client is saved automatically into my clients file or do i have to create a script?

My main question, and i have read all the manuals, is how to work with realtionships without running a script?

Im sorry if this is a silly question but i cant find an asnwer on this simple yet important question.

Thanks in advance!

• 1. Re: Setting up my database - Please help
          Jade

Hi Loudegg:

I have 4 quick suggestions:

• Although you can use 2 files (invoices.fp7 & clients.fp7), you will probably find it easier to use 2 tables in the same file: 'yourfile.fp7 '

• Using Name & Phone & Company for your primary and foreign keys is not such a good idea because, sooner or later, someone is going to change their phone number, company name, or even name and this change will break your links.  It is better to use another key (e.g. Client_ID) that is auto incrementing and unique.  There is a field type for this purpose.  So your Invoice table should have: Invoice_ID, Client_ID, price, etc.  The Client table should have Client_ID, Name, Phone,  Company, etc.  The Relationship graph should link the Client_ID fields together so that: Client -< Invoice.  Now one client can have many invoices.

• Before adding a new Invoice, you must first add the Client information if it does not already exist.  You should have a Client layout for this purpose.