3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 17, 2008 9:32 AM by TSGal

Setting up summary table of dated events (text) for individuals in chronological order

malcolml

Title

Setting up summary table of dated events (text) for individuals in chronological order

Hi I'm new to FileMaker and am trying to develop a solution for keeping track of  events for different people (text about what happened on a specific date) and then to be able to produce a table summary in date order of the text about the events for each individual.

I have managed to set up the database to record single events but am having problems saving the sequential event information and creating a table to display the information for each individual.

I cannot seem to implement lookups and portals and these seem to be one possible solution.

Is there any one who can possibly help with my problem?

Thanking you in anticipation

Joni1

• 1. Re: Setting up summary table of dated events (text) for individuals in chronological order
          TSGal

Joni1:

Thank you for your post.

You may want to consider having two tables.  One table to track the people, and one table to track the events.  That way, you may have one event for an individual, and possibly 40 events for another individual.

Some way, you would need to link the two tables together through a common field.  Perhaps a Customer ID field.

This would allow you to enter a Customer ID, have the Customer information display along with all events that have occurred for that Customer.