9 Replies Latest reply on Apr 10, 2009 2:16 PM by philmodjunk

setting variables during search

arjayefem

Title

setting variables during search

Hello, please bear with me as I am new to Filemaker...I have a form, the user inputs order#, date, etc. Order# is passed to another form called OrderEditForm where you need to add customers. I then have a button to go to CustomerTable...here's where the problem lies.

Once I get to CustomerTable, if it is a repeat customer, how do I let the user select the Customer and pass that "CustomerID" back to the OrderEditForm (for population of that form), or if it is a new customer, add said customer to CustomerTable?

I can't figure out how to make the code allow the user to choose the customer they want and then set a variable as the CustomerID of that choice.  How to get CustomerTable selection pass from one layout to another. Is it one of those Get() functions or what?

Thanks in advance. 

• 1. Re: setting variables during search
          philmodjunk

You have three ways to pass information between scripts.

Method 1.

When you use Perform Script, you can specify a script parameter.

Perform Script ["script name",Parameter: Expression]

Where 'expression' can be any kind of calculation you need just like you'd define for a calculated field.

To retrieve this information in the performed script, use

Get(ScriptParameter)

Method 2.

You can use the set variable step to store a value in a global variable

Set Variable [$$VariableName, Expression]

Using two dollar signs at the beginning of the variable's name makes it global and ensures that the value can be accessed in other scripts

You can then refer to the information stored in $$VariableName in other script expressions such as:

If [$$VariableName = 5]

Method 3.

This used to be the only practical method for this task.

Use Set Field to store the information into a field so that the user and/or other scripts have access to the information.