3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 18, 2015 7:41 AM by philmodjunk

Sharing a database via Google Drive and setting up accounts

Kate_1

Title

Sharing a database via Google Drive and setting up accounts

Hi,

I'm fairly new to Filemaker Pro, so there might be an obvious answer to this, but...

We're setting up a database for our office (five people), we've got subscriptions for five users, but not a server subscription. The office does not have a LAN setup, we use Google Drive on a wireless internet connection. When we save the filemaker database in Google Drive and everyone accesses it all seems fine, but when you add data it isn't saved. I have tried to turn on sharing, but now every time I open the database the message "Filemaker cannot share files because another user is already sharing files from this computer" comes up. This is the first time I've had Filemaker on my computer, so I don't really see how there could be another user already sharing. 

Is there a way that we can share and use a filemaker database without a local network, preferably via something like Google Drive?

Also, when I've tried to set up accounts people can't login to them. No matter how many times I check them or try different combinations, every time they try it comes up saying the name and password aren't correct. Is there something I'm missing here?

Thanks,

Kate

• 1. Re: Sharing a database via Google Drive and setting up accounts
          TKnTexas

Google Drive is not a server.  It is storage in the cloud.  You would not be using a single shared copy interactively.  I have used Google Drive and DropBox to store my files.  I do this as I switch from a Mac computer to a Windows computer.  I have switched too quickly, and the copy was not up to date.

You would need to find a service that can host the file(s).  Users would access the file from that.  You can find reasonably priced options, google "Filemaker Pro Hosting"