5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 23, 2010 10:51 AM by philmodjunk

sharing from a server

Luke08

Title

sharing from a server

Hi,

Apologies if this has been posted before, but I couldn't find an answer to this anywhere. I'm trying to share a Filemaker Pro database with several different users to that we can enter information simultaneously, but I can't get it to work. Filemaker is currently hosted on a server, so the fact that we all have remote access to it seems to be causing a problem. I tried dragging it to my desktop and hosting it from there, but I couldn't get that to work either. I'm fairly new to this, so I could be doing something wrong. Anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: sharing from a server
          philmodjunk

Please exactly describe the steps you have taken to share your file.

When you share it from a server, is FileMaker Pro or FileMaker Server installed on that machine and is the file opened first on that machine?

What settings for the file have you selected in File | Sharing | FileMaker Network... ?

• 2. Re: sharing from a server
            Luke08

I went to file/sharing/FileMaker network and turned network sharing on. Under the network access to file settings, I specified full access and data entry only. Then I hit ok and hoped it would work...

I also made a copy of the database on my desktop and went through the same steps, to no avail.

FileMaker Pro is installed on all of our computers, but since we have remote access I'm not sure where its opened first. I apologize, but I don't know that much about how servers work. We don't have FileMaker Server, and was told it won't work with the campus infrastructure.