4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 22, 2012 7:04 PM by RyanVicente

Show data in portal based on multiple filter

RyanVicente

Title

Show data in portal based on multiple filter

Hi, 

I'm pretty new with FileMaker and I'm working on a database where I have data from different dates that are listed by Week, Month, Quarter. I need help in showing a filtered data in a layout via a portal. The user will have to set filters by "Person" and then select one of the following: a. Week b. Month c. Quarter. 

Playing around with it and thanks to a lot of forum answers and online resource, I found a way to get the data to show by Week; but can't seem to make the Month and Quarter work. 

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

• 1. Re: Show data in portal based on multiple filter
          philmodjunk

I have data from different dates that are listed by Week, Month, Quarter.

Exactly what do you mean by that? Is there a single date field in your portal's table and you want the user to see all related records where the date falls in a user selected week, month or quarter?

How do you plan to set up the layout for them to specify this? (There are several different ways and I can adapt the filter expression to work from the methods you choose to set up.)

• 2. Re: Show data in portal based on multiple filter
            RyanVicente

Hi PhilModJunk, 

Thanks for the reply. 

Basically, team members log multiple activities in the database on a daily basis. For example:

Staff - Date - Task - Hours

Rick - 1 Jan 2012 - Laundry - 2 hours

Rick - 12 Feb 2012 - Lunch - 1 hour

Jo - 2 Jan 2012 - Laundry - 3 hours

Jo - 27 Feb 2012 - Lunch - 1 hour

The portion where they "log" the activies doesn't have a portion for week, month or quarter. The plan is to do that in the background probably by playing around with Date functions available in FileMaker like WeekOfYear, etc.