7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 17, 2013 7:06 AM by LoyleneRuppert

Show limited choices in a pop up field

LoyleneRuppert

Title

Show limited choices in a pop up field

I have a table that lists both clinical staff and physicians.  For the physicians, I have defined a radio button that is chosen to indicate they are physicians.  I have defined a field that combines (using calculation) the first, middle, last and suffix for each name - both clinical and physicians.  In some of my main form I need to pop up a list of just physicians.  In other I just need clinical names.  I have tried all sorts of stuff and still just get the master list on the pop up.  I'm sure there is a trick to this, but I certainly can't figure it out.  Can someone please help?  Here is what the calculation is for the name field that is populating the value list of names from the table:

Trim (nameFirst & " " & nameMiddle & " " & nameLast & ", " & nameSuffix)

I am new to FM and, even with 2 days of work on this I can't figure it out.  I've written a million scripts to no avail.  Please help!!!

• 1. Re: Show limited choices in a pop up field
          philmodjunk

What you describe is called a conditional value list. Here are some links on the subject:

There's a lot of overlap between the first two links so you can read one and skim the other. The demo file gives you several examples of different conditional value lists so you can examine them to see how they are set up. If you are using FileMaker 12, you can open this demo file from your File menu to get a converted copy of the demo file that you can examine in FileMaker 12.

The last link discusses how to set up a chain of conditional value lists where the value selected in each conditional value list controls the values listed in the next value list.

Forum Tutorial: Custom Value List?

Knowledgebase article: http://help.filemaker.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/5833/kw/conditional%20value%20list