7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 17, 2014 10:12 AM by BretJuliano

Showing Related Records in Portals

BretJuliano

Title

Showing Related Records in Portals

Hi all, I am completely new to FMP, I am in the middle of building my first application but I am having some trouble getting basic functionality to work. I am trying to get related Forms to show in the portal at the bottom of the page.

I have a separate table ("forms") with forms that are tied to the patients records.

In my manage database relationship window, there are the tables "patients" and "forms." I have a primary key "Patient ID" in the Patients table and also have the "Patient ID" set as a foreign key in the Forms table. Also in the Edit Relationship box, both sides of the equation have the "Allow creation of records in this table via this relationship" checkbox checked.

Nothing is showing at all. Any ideas on why this might be?

Screen_Shot_2014-09-09_at_12.27.21_PM.png

• 1. Re: Showing Related Records in Portals
          philmodjunk

There are no fields from forms or any other table in your portal row. Thus the portal will always be empty. Use the field tool to drag and drop onto the empty portal row shown and select some fields from forms for inclusion in this portal row. (And "allow creation..." is not needed in order for data to appear in the portal.  "allow creation for the portal's table occurrence is needed if you want a blank "add row" to appear in your portal where you can enter data into fields and by doing so create a new related record in the forms table.

• 2. Re: Showing Related Records in Portals
            BretJuliano

Ah that makes so much sense! So would something like this be the proper setup? Also, is there a way to make the related fields in the portal on be static and not dynamic?

• 3. Re: Showing Related Records in Portals
              philmodjunk