4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 6, 2014 10:03 AM by NathanielHirtz

Similar Databases with Drastically Different File Sizes

NathanielHirtz

Title

Similar Databases with Drastically Different File Sizes

I am working on some database files for an engineering firm using FileMaker Pro 7 (old, I know, but it's what they have and what they want to use).  Most of the databases are quite similar in terms of their layouts and their fields, but the file sizes for the databases are all over the place and do not correspond to the number of records in the databases.

For example, one database has nearly 3500 records with a file size of only 2 MB.  But a different database that has less than 200 records has a file size of nearly 50 MB.  I cannot seem to find the reason for the vast disparity in the file sizes.

If more information is needed, please do not hesitate to ask and I'll supply what I can.  As a heads-up, I am not a database expert and have no formal training at all.  I've picked up what I've needed to do my job and that's it.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Similar Databases with Drastically Different File Sizes
          philmodjunk

The number of records in a table has very little to do with the size of the file. The number of bytes of data needed for a given record multiplied by the number of records would be a better indication.

But the largest factor in file size will be the presence of container fields in the table and whether physical copies of large files have been inserted into that container field or if data was inserted "by reference".

Large complex layouts with lots of graphics or a hi res graphic image as the back ground can be a significant factor increasing the size of your file.

And there can be blocks of space set aside for objects no longer in the file due to previous design changes made.

You might try using "save a copy as" with the "compacted copy" option to see if that reduces the size of any of these files by a significant amount.