5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 3, 2015 9:38 PM by philmodjunk

simple attendance record

SteveO

Title

simple attendance record

Hi,

Apologies for my lack of subject knowledge. I have no experience of database systems and have fumbled my way around Filemaker for a few days. I'm determined to learn though.

All i need to do at the moment is set up a simple attendance sheet that has a list of students down the side which i can manually input, a list of session dates across the top which i can manually input and alongside each students (under each session date) the ability to choose present, absent or late. It will basically replace the paper-based system that is currently in use and doesn't need to make any calculations etc just be a visual record of attendance. Do I need an individual field for each student name and each selection for each session?

I will look to develop the system in the future as I learn to understand the terminology and techniques etc. but at the moment I just need to have a simple form that i can record the attendance status for each student for each of the weekly sessions 

Thank You

• 1. Re: simple attendance record
          philmodjunk

You need one record for each student, a field for the name and one field for each session date where you mark the student present, absent or late. You can format these text fields with the same custom value list of these three values and format the field as a pop up menu for selecting one of the three.

• 2. Re: simple attendance record
            SteveO

Thank you for your response Phil. Sorry again for my ignorance, does your suggestion mean that i mark a student present etc by scrolling through individual records one at a time? or can this be done by making a mark against a list of names on the same page?

Thanks again 

• 3. Re: simple attendance record
              philmodjunk