10 Replies Latest reply on Apr 30, 2013 8:54 AM by philmodjunk

Simple Conditional Value List

MichaelConti

Title

Simple Conditional Value List

If there is a solution to my issue = can someone point me in the right direction or give me an easy explanation on how to achieve the following:

So lets say we have a database for appliances, which contain fields such as:  category, description, image, cost, model, etc...

Now in the layout - lets say customer selection.   We have a field "Appliance_Fridge" linked to the above.  How can the list of appliances that are listed , ovens, microwaves, stoves, etc... be cut down to just the Refrigerators?   Without first having to select the category - this is in it's own area and only Fridges will be selected there.

Hope that makes some since- I am new to this and hoping someone will have the patience to assist.

TIA!

Mike

• 1. Re: Simple Conditional Value List
          philmodjunk

Use a calculation field in place of the user selected field to "hard wire" the conditional value list to refrigerators.

LayoutsTable::constFridge = Appliances::Category

Define constFrige as a calculation field that has a single term, a quoted text string for its calculation such as: "Refrigerator".

Now you have the same relationship setup for a conditional value list where the user picks the category, but the constFridge field takes the place of the user modifiable category field.

• 2. Re: Simple Conditional Value List
            MichaelConti

Use a calculation field in place of the user selected field to "hard wire" the conditional value list to refrigerators.

LayoutsTable::constFridge = Appliances::Category

Define constFrige as a calculation field that has a single term, a quoted text string for its calculation such as: "Refrigerator".

Now you have the same relationship setup for a conditional value list where the user picks the category, but the constFridge field takes the place of the user modifiable category field.