5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 12, 2012 7:02 AM by JustinTylerMoore

Simple History Field and Appending Data

JustinTylerMoore

Title

Simple History Field and Appending Data

Hello All,

I am new to FileMaker, but i know my way around software pretty well.... Here's what I am trying to accomplish:

i have an inventory system that I have set up. I have a "checked-out to" field with the emplyees name, and a "checked-out date" field with the, you guessed it, checked out date. I also have a text field called "history" in the table. What I would like to do is create a "Check In" button that executes a script that does a few things. 

1) Copies the "Checked-Out To" and "Checked-Out Date" data,

2) Appends it in the "History" field, and adds a current timestamp and line break, then

3) Changes the "Checked-Out To" and "Checked-Out Date" back to default.

This in my head seems fairly straightforward, but I'm not sure i'm understanding it correctly.

Any help is greatly appreciated!!! Thanks

-justin

Screen_Shot_2012-07-10_at_11.04.30_AM.png

• 1. Re: Simple History Field and Appending Data
          philmodjunk

It can be done, but I suggest a related history TABLE where you can create a new related record to log this data will be simpler and easier to use. You can use a portal to display the data in the portal. This allows you to enter date and/or timestamp data in fields with those specific data types--which can make for much easier date/time based searching and sorting of your data, plus better display of the same.

Just to answer the specific question even thought I recommended against it:

Set Field [ YourTable::History ; List ( YourTable::CheckedOutTO & " - " & YourTable::CheckedOutDate ; YourTable::History ) ]
          Set Field [ YourTable::CheckedOutTO ; "" ]
          Set Field [ YourTable::CheckedOutDate  ; "" ]

I'm assuming that you want to assign "default" values that clear the fields.

• 2. Re: Simple History Field and Appending Data