5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 8, 2010 8:21 PM by Keystone

Simple Navigation Button Script

Keystone

Title

Simple Navigation Button Script

Hi,

I have a resume (CV) database that contains two Layouts, one for Engineering and one for IT (different divisions of the company). I have a button on both of these Layouts that says "Enter New Candidate"

Keeping in mind that I'm new to scripts, I'd like these buttons (when clicked) to display a custom dialog that asks if the user is sure if they're entering the candidate in the correct Layout.

For example, If the user is in the Engineering Layout, and the click on "Enter New Candidate", the dialogue would ask:

"Are you sure this candidate belongs in the Engineering Database?"

The options would be: "Yes, continue" or "No, go to IT"

Obviously if the answer is "Yes, continue", FM opens a new blank record in "Engineering" to be entered.

If the answer is "No, go to IT", FM opens up a new blank record in the IT Layout.

Again, being new to scripts I'd appreciate it anyone could offer a simple solution to this problem.

Thanks in advance!

• 1. Re: Simple Navigation Button Script
          KenS

You're in luck. FM makes what you are wanting to do really easy with basic script steps.

Use the script step "Show Custom Dialogue"  to display the dialogue, with buttons, and return the button the user clicked in.

A simple if/else/endif will do the rest for you.

Ken 

• 2. Re: Simple Navigation Button Script
            user14360

Use an If statement saying:

If 

Get (LastMessageChoice) = 1  (1 is the default button, 2 is for the button next to it and 3 the next one)

Go to layout...

Else

Go to layout...

• 3. Re: Simple Navigation Button Script
              Keystone

Thanks for the clarification Ken and Hildy. I apologize but I'm very new to scripts and I'm a little lost.

I've set the script trigger to run 'OnObjectEnter', so I assume it's supposed to run when the button is clicked?