1 2 Previous Next 17 Replies Latest reply on Dec 21, 2010 10:29 AM by philmodjunk

Simple newbie question(s):

TonySeveerini

Title

Simple newbie question(s):

Hello!

I am new to all this database thing, and need to create a database an inventory database basically (with filemaker). So I will be using this thread so you can school me on my questions...

Anyway, first question is;

How can I copy and paste on the table, like in an excel sheet, how can I select many boxes at a time in the table?

For now I have a field that has first and last name in it, I created 2 calculation fields that seperate the names as I want 2 fields; 1st being first name; 2nd being last. Anyway it displays perfectly, I just need to copy the text from the calculated fields to 2 new text fields, so that I can then delete the calculated fields and the "all names" field.

In access I could simply edit the tables in many ways like in excel(copy and paste rows at a time etc.), is this possible in filemaker?

thanks.

• 1. Re: Simple newbie question(s):
          philmodjunk

FileMake does not allow you to copy and paste multiple records at one time. You can copy them, but you can't paste them and have them align and put data into matching columns in the target table. They all get pasted as a single object and your paste winds up in a single field.

You can, however, change the field types from calculation to text and their most recently computed value is retained as data in the text field. You can also simply define the fields with auto-entered cacluation field options that pull the first and last names from your combined name field and that leaves them as text fields in the first place.

There are also scripted approaches that can move blocks of data from one table to another--thus achieving the same result as your block copy and paste--though this takes some doing to set up.