10 Replies Latest reply on May 24, 2012 1:16 PM by philmodjunk

Simple parent - child relationship problem...I think?

Title

Simple parent - child relationship problem...I think?

Hi, I'm new to Filemaker and have a problem I hope someone can assist me with.

I have two tables and two layouts:

Customer and Notes

On my customer layout, I have a note field that I want to display all the notes for that customer. I also have a "add note" button on the customer layout which takes you to the notes layout. 

Question 1:  How do I "connect" the notes layout to the customer layout?  I can get the notes table to record the customerID.  So when you click on the "add note" button, the notes layout should open, which it does, but the customerID is not recorded in the Notes table.

Question 2:  How do I display all the notes added in the "notes" field on the customer layout?

Thanks in advance for your assistance.

Matt

• 1. Re: Simple parent - child relationship problem...I think?
          philmodjunk

Q1, do you need a separate layout?

If you place a portal to Notes on your customer layout, you can add, delete and edit all the notes for that customer directly on your customer layout.

This script will take the current customerID and enter it into a new note record on your notes layout:

Set Variable [$CustID ; value: Customer::CustomerID]
          Go to Layout [Notes (Notes)]
          New Record/Request
          Set Field [Notes::CustomerID ; $CustID]

Such a script can be useful even if you decide to use the portal as you can include freeze window at the start and Go to Layout [original Layout] at the end and the script will add a new note that automatically appears in your portal. If you sort your notes in the portal so that the most recent note is at the top of the list, this script becomes useful as adding a new note directly in the portal requires scrolling to the end of the portal records, entering the data and when you exit it pops back to the top.