3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 24, 2011 10:10 AM by philmodjunk

Simple Project Database

JamesBrisco

Title

Simple Project Database

Hi Everybody.

I am very new to Filemaker so I apologise if this is v basic stuff but I have scoured help files for an answer to this for a whie now.

I work for a small design company and for years we have been using a single excel spreadsheet to log projects as they come in, allocate them unique job numbers and track various things against each project - eg. role on the job - who was the client, architect, engineer etc.  This is a v simple spreadsheet: a single page, no macros or xrefs etc.  Information is duplicated in some other files, more spreadsheets dedicated to lists of contacts which contain their contact details etc.  I think you can see where this is going...  I think a proper database might be in order, simply logging jobs in one table, contacts in another and relating them together etc.  If I did this then I imagine I might be able to print off contact lists which automatically update with lists of projects they have collaborated on etc.  That is the dream.  I think Filemaker might make a wise purchase, so am exploring the trial.

So far, I can set up one table - 'Jobs' - with fields 'Jobs::JobID', 'Jobs::Job Name' and 'Jobs::Company' etc.  I can then relate this to a second table - 'Contacts' - which has the fields 'Contacts::Company', 'Contacts::Address' etc. I can make a portal to display the jobs which this company has worked on which is v nice.