5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 5, 2013 2:10 PM by philmodjunk

simple related tables

Title

simple related tables

I'm just learning about relating tables and trying to do a very simple prep list to track what we make each day and then create reports for the week and month. here's what I have so far...

table one, prep list items

item id - I should probably set this up as a serial number

item name - text field

batch size - this would be the "normal" batch size

batch size unit - i suppose this might need to be a value list?

table two, prep list calendar

date

item id

item name (I'd like to be able to have this pull from item name in the prep list)

batch size (this is going to be pulled from the prep list table. it's the usual batch size)

batch size unit (this would be pulled from somewhere)

actual batch size (this is something that sometimes varies and we need to track)

notes- just a text field to put notes

So I want to use the prep list calendar to enter a date and grab a task  from the task list, then have it enter the batch size and then some notes, etc. then i want to be able to create a report to see what was done for the week.

I've posted the file here: https://sites.google.com/a/sugarbakerycafe.com/shared-files/filemaker-database

Thanks!

stephanie

• 1. Re: simple related tables
          philmodjunk

I can't get to your file without logging in so my answers do not reflect what you have in the file. There are other file sharing options that do not require this option. I use drop box.

item id - I should probably set this up as a serial number >> absolutely!

item name - text field >> Select a Unique Values Validation to make sure you don't accidentally give two items the same name.

batch size - this would be the "normal" batch size

batch size unit - i suppose this might need to be a value list? >>Yes, you can use Manage | Value List to set up a value list of custom values for your units

table two, prep list calendar