4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 18, 2010 1:34 PM by davidhead

Simple script request for help

KB-MT

Title

Simple script request for help

My apologies from the start, but I am really new at FMPro11. I worked with a relational database program many years ago, but have forgotten a lot.

I have created a simple database with a key field called OEM#. All I want to do is create a simple button with a script behind it that my coworker (a non-computer type) can press to search for a particular OEM number that he types into a search box. If the item is there, then the script should bring him to that record. If that OEM# is not already in the database - which will happen less and less as we build the database - then it should return a message that says it is not there and ask if he wants to enter it now. When he says yes, it should then bring him to a new, blank record screen.

This sounds like it should be simple, and it probably is, but I am stuck. Can anyone advise please?  Thanks so much!

KB

• 1. Re: Simple script request for help
          davidhead

You could try a script like this. It will prompt a search and capture the criteria used for later creating a new record if required when the search returns no records. Let me know if any of this needs further explanation.

Go to Layout [ “Data” ]
          Enter Find Mode [ Pause ] 
          Set Variable [ $criteria; Value:Data::OEM# // capture the search criteria used ]
          Set Error Capture [ On ] 
          Perform Find [ ] 
          Set Error Capture [ Off ]
          If [ not Get ( FoundCount ) ]
          Show Custom Dialog [ Title: "Not Found"; Message: "The OEM number was not found.¶Do you want to create a new record for it now?"; Buttons: “No”, “Yes” ]
          If [ Get ( LastMessageChoice ) = 2 // Yes ]
          New Record/Request 
          Set Field [ Data::OEM#; $criteria ]
          Commit Records/Requests
          End If
          Show All Records
          Else
          #Display found record