1 Reply Latest reply on Mar 18, 2013 4:59 PM by davidanders

Small doctor's office, complete "Practice Management" software

YosemiteSam

Title

Small doctor's office, complete "Practice Management" software

I am new to FM, and have 2 years experience with MS Access.   I am the IT support for a very small doctor's office.  The office consists of 1 doctor and one assistant.  They are big Apple & Mac users, so I did a "workaround" database in Excel three years ago, because I didn't have database experience then, I saw that MS Access didn't work on a Mac, and I didn't know FM existed.  The office is still currently using the Excel “database”.

Let me give you the project overview, as I am just getting started with FM, and converting the Excel file to FM.  The doctor’s office does NOT deal with or take medical insurance as payment.

There are only 3 tables right now:  “Address book”, “Doctor’s procedures”, and “Raw Data”

The front desk assistant needs

-    To generate a list of today’s clients (from an existing “Address Book” table) in the morning, and which procedure (from an existing “Doctor’s procedures” table) each client will have performed by the doctor.  There is roughly 20 clients per day, and roughly 20 different doctor procedures.

-    For each of the day’s clients, provide a listing of their complete past visits, including date, procedure, notes from past procedures, and notes from the front desk assistant.  (All of this exists in a “Raw data” table, with ID’s for “Address Book” and “Doctor’s procedures” in raw data columns.  ONLY these columns have ID’s, the rest of the “Raw Data” is the actual data or text, making it a simple database design.  I have created the proper relationships in FM for “Address Book” and “Doctor’s procedures”.)