14 Replies Latest reply on Jan 27, 2010 11:18 PM by vmims

Some records do not appear on form view or on table view

vmims

Title

Some records do not appear on form view or on table view

Hi, I have looked for this answer everywhere. On FP 10.3, I imported data from Excel. I have 451 fields, and approximately 75 records (participants in a psychological study).

I can see all the records, but only the first 422 fields show up. In the form view, field 422 is at the very bottom of the body area. I can't pull down that line to make more room for the last 30 records to appear.

In the table view, I can only see the first 422 columns no matter how narrow I make them. I am new to FP, so if you can help me, I would appreciate it.

• 1. Re: Some records do not appear on form view or on table view
          RickWhitelaw

It's difficult to know what to say. 451 fields and 75 Records? There is a limit to layout size and table view has limits as well. The limit you've likely reached is "how narrow can a column be?". Are all these fields in the same table? Even if you had 75 fields and 451 records I'd guess 75 fields would be "a bit wide" as a legacy designer friend of mine used to say. "Skinny tables are good" was his modus operandi. If you started this database now's the time to redesign. You don't have too much data to manage. You could almost write down 75 records by hand but don't. Back up what you have and then read about what a Relational DataBase is. It's available in the FM documentation. You'll probably break up your fields into several different tables and the whole thing will be more efficient (for 10 or 10,000 records). 

Continue to ask questions here and to browse. It can be invaluable.

RW 

• 2. Re: Some records do not appear on form view or on table view
            vmims

Hi Rick,