2 Replies Latest reply on Aug 8, 2011 4:27 PM by JasonGriffing

Sort of like a portal, but not...

JasonGriffing

Title

Sort of like a portal, but not...

First off, I'm sorry for the vague title, and it's ensuing post.  I'm really new to this, am I'm not sure about how exactly to word my question.  I am attaching a screen shot in hopes that it will help illustrate what I'm trying to accomplish.  Seems like there should be a fairly simple way...

I have a subcontracting firm, and I'm trying to build a simple work order solution.  Part of the solution will include a layout that I am calling PMR (short for Parts / Materials Requisitions).  On the top half of the layout, I have included the fields necessary to request a part.  (SEE SCREENSHOT).  I'm stuck on the next part.  I would like to have something similar to a portal underneath the text that reads "PMR's for <<Projects::ProjectAlias>>.

I would basically like for the bottom half of this layout to display a table of all the PMR's related to the current project.  I thought initially that would be a portal.  But it appears as though I was wrong.  I know that a portal is designed to show records from a related table.  I am actually trying to view records for the current table, which a portal will not do.

Any suggestions?

Screen_shot_2011-08-08_at_1.57.39_PM.png

• 1. Re: Sort of like a portal, but not...
          philmodjunk

Actually a portal CAN show records from the same table as the layout. It just takes a "self join" relationship created in Manage | Database | Relationships.

Go to that location, click on the "box" for this layout's table to select it, then click the button with two green plus signs. This creates a new "table occurrence" of the same table and you can double click it to open a dialog where you can give it a more descriptive name than just putting a 2 after the original occurrence's name.