1 2 Previous Next 18 Replies Latest reply on May 20, 2011 11:46 AM by philmodjunk

sorting alphanumeric fields

MarlinPenner

Title

sorting alphanumeric fields

Hello,  I'm a complete rookie so please provide a detailed response with few assumptions.  My research group uses Filemaker Pro 9 to manage our chemical inventory.  The chemicals are physically stored alphabetically but the names of chemicals are alphanumeric and when sorting chemicals by name the numbers are automatically considered first and then the letters.  For example the following two chemicals are sorted as:

1,4-benzoquinone
      Acetic hydrazide

when they should be sorted as:

Acetic hydrazide

1,4-benzoquinone

I was told that there is a way of sorting these as desired but have no idea how to do it.  Also is there a way of doing this type of sorting also ignoring particular character combinations.  For example (R) or (S).

Thank you

• 1. Re: sorting alphanumeric fields
          philmodjunk

You'd need to create a text field where the numbers and any other letter combinations are not present in that field and then you sort on that field.

Example:

Filter ( Substitute ( ChemicalName ; ["(R)" ; "" ] ; ["(C)" ; "" ] ) ; "ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZabcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz" )

The Substitute function strips out the character combinations you want to ignore and then Filter removes everything but the upper and lower case letters A - Z.

If it's a fairly short list of chemicals, you could also define a custom values value list, type them all into the value list in the order in which they should sort and then there's a sort option that allows you to sort records by the order of values in the value list, but this can be a lot less flexible than the calculation field as you would need to update this custom value list by hand everytime you add a new chemical to your database.

• 2. Re: sorting alphanumeric fields
            MarlinPenner