14 Replies Latest reply on Dec 20, 2013 8:48 AM by Keith224

Sorting Question - Newbie

Keith224

Title

Sorting Question - Newbie

I have a sort question.  I have a table with a many records for each student.  There are 4 scores per year for each student.  I need to be able to sort those records in to the latest 16 records for each student by a field name [Year].  Then re-sort the previous sort into 10 records based on students [Score] from lowest to highest out of the previous sort of the 16 records.  Then from those 10 records have a calculation of the Average of those 10 scores.

I am a relative newbie to Filemaker.  Formerly an Access user now converting to Filemaker.

Thanks for any help!

• 1. Re: Sorting Question - Newbie
          philmodjunk

"Sort" doesn't mean the same thing for every person that posts here. I think you mean "find" not "sort" as a "sort" arranges records in a particular order where a "find" pulls up a specific set of record as your found set on a layout, such as for a report like you describe. But what you describe will require a combination of the two.

What Data in this table allows you to tell which records for a given student are the "latest records"? Is there a date, time stamp or auto-entered serial number that can be used to determine that?

When you say: 

I need to be able to sort those records in to the latest 16 records for each student by a field name [Year].

Does that mean that you want to find, as an example, the most recent 16 records recorded for each student in 2013 or some other year specified by the user or a script?

• 2. Re: Sorting Question - Newbie
            Keith224

Fist, sorry, i did not mean to click on Best Answer!  I don't know how to remove that.