3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 7, 2012 1:10 PM by philmodjunk

Specialized list from two tables displayed as drop down list?

DinaMoore

Title

Specialized list from two tables displayed as drop down list?

I'm new to databases and need some help...

I have an employee table and a job table. I have two types of questionnaires that the employee fills out based on his job. So i have two separate tables for the questionnaires. 

I want to have a drop down list of employees that match the criteria for the certain type of questionnaire. But I don't know how to create the list and I don't know how to get it displayed.

Help Please? 

• 1. Re: Specialized list from two tables displayed as drop down list?
          philmodjunk

I have two types of questionnaires that the employee fills out based on his job. So i have two separate tables for the questionnaires.

Hmmm, and why two different tables? Why only two tables? You might want to do a search of this forum using "survey" as your search text to find some discussions of ways to set up a group of tables that flexibly manage both the questions and the responses to more than one survey--but with the data all combined in the same set of tables. You pull up different sets of question records and different sets of response records for a given survey by a different individual.

I want to have a drop down list of employees that match the criteria for the certain type of questionnaire.

Please post an example of what that criteria might be. I think you want a conditional value list, but don't have enough detail to know for sure.

• 2. Re: Specialized list from two tables displayed as drop down list?
            DinaMoore

PhilModJunk, I searched on Survey and found nothing helpful. I don't know enough to answer any of your questions in the first part. If you could suggest how to handle it, I'd be most appreciative.