4 Replies Latest reply on May 21, 2015 2:41 PM by markomodsching

split a text and store a word statistic in a relationship table

markomodsching

Title

split a text and store a word statistic in a relationship table

Hi,

I'm new to filemaker and searching for a solution. I like to store a keyword statistic of a web-page and compare it to another one. The single words should be analzed according to their occurences and stored in a separate table called analyzed_words. From my point-of-view I need the following steps:

1. load the content of a web-page via url given in a text-field

2. cleanup the html content to get the pure text

3. split the text into the single words

4. count equal words and store the result in the analyzed_words related table

I managed to do steps 1-2. I'm now searching for a way to split the text into the words and store them in the related table. I think I need to trigger a skript via button-click and do the action there?

Maybe somebody has an aproach for me. Or is this kind of task not possible with filemaker?

Thanks in advance,

Marko

• 1. Re: split a text and store a word statistic in a relationship table
          philmodjunk

1. See the Insert From URL script step

2. You'll need to do a lot of text parsing. There are many text functions available in FileMaker and if you have advanced there are additional custom functions available. (There are web sites that share FileMaker custom functions that you can google.) You can give the substitute function a list of words for which it substitutes an empty string to filter out text, such as HTML tags from the downloaded mass of text.

3. See the leftwords, middlewords and rightwords functions.