6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 12, 2009 7:33 AM by TSGal

Stats form main db

p1nf0ld

Title

Stats form main db

Hello,

I am new to FMP and a complete novice, although I am finding it a great database program but I am wrestling with a problem of getting stats from a main database into another table. I will try to clearly explain what I am trying to do.

table1 contains information about calls taken.

table2 is where I want to create a monthly and 6 monthly report from information in main db but not sure if I am making this too complicated? I have linked the db's with a relation

I am trying to get the total number of calls for the previous month and 6 months and then two figures for one field that has 2 options (callline1 and calline2) I can get the figure into a field by doing a count but can't see how to make count only see say callline2. I would like to have a drop down list for the month names and a text input field for the year. Then do a search for matching records. I started writing a script but can't get it to work. Having looked for info on the web I think I have confused myself more.

So I think my requirement is:-

select month

enter year

days to be *

find all records for that month in table1::callline

fill table2::stat_calline_total field 

find total number records in table1::callline call type = callline1

fill table2::stat_calline1 field

find total number records in table1::callline call type = callline2

fill table2::stat_calline2 field

end find

Just can't seem to sort it out. Would appreciate any advice..

Regards

Tom 

• 1. Re: Stats form main db
          p1nf0ld

I have made a little step forward, I now am able to script search recs with "searchpattern" and output to field in same table

perform find

set field [maindb::main_count_of_line1: Get ( FoundCount )

I then tried to duplicate this for the second search but it is putting text into the second field so I assume the first search is not being flushed. Am I getting warmer? :(

t.