6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 19, 2010 10:29 AM by philmodjunk

Storing as a reference file

ScottDouglass

Title

Storing as a reference file

I am somewhat new to this but I am sure someone can advise on this....  I have a dedicated mac acting as a server with multiple users networking into this server to access Filemaker pro 11. On the desktop of this server I have a file that has hundreds of pdf files that we are storing into filemaker. As to not slow down the server we have inserte/stored these files into FM as references. The problem arises when other users try to access these files - an error message appears that says that the file could not be found. I can access these files when I am logged into the actual server.  Is this a file path problem? Security problem?..... Any advise/guidance would be greatly appreciated!!  Scott

• 1. Re: Storing as a reference file
          philmodjunk

It's a filepath problem and it can also be a security problem.

In order for all your users to see the images, their computers must mount the drive/directory storing the PDF files in such manner that the file path from their computer corresponds exactly to the filepath stored in the container field when you inserted the PDF.

For windows computers, that means you need to map a drive letter to a shared directory on your host computer where the files are stored and then the container fields need to use the exact same filepath (including the drive letter) to your PDF files. The principle is the same for Macs, but the details differ a bit as you don't have drive letters on Mac systems.

One helpful hint: you can use Replace Field Contents on store by reference container fields to update all the filepaths to a new location if you have to move the entire folder off the desktop inorder to make the folder's contents accessible to the users.

• 2. Re: Storing as a reference file
            davidanders

The desktop is a Folder in the User's Home that is logged in.