4 Replies Latest reply on May 2, 2012 12:35 PM by VeronicaDaigle

Stuck with portals! Would appreciate help :)

VeronicaDaigle

Title

Stuck with portals! Would appreciate help :)

Ok I am new to using File maker so please bear with me; I had posted a related question earlier but now am having trouble actually implementing the suggested solution correctly.

I have a database for keeping track of all of our project information on a daily basis with numerous tables. I have one table for all contractors working on the project, one table for each project location we are tracking one for scheduled tasks etc. The contractors, locations, and task tables are related to several other tables so that when the user is filling in data in other tables they must choose a contractor, location or task from those already entered into the database in the related table.

Now I want to set up a portal using relationships between 3 tables in particular. Every day the field staff will enter in a work ticket from each contractor on the site into a Work Ticket database. The work ticket table has a field for Contractor Name which is related to a unique Contractor Name in the contractors table, so each contractor will have multiple related tickets. On the Work Ticket table there is also an invoice number field which the user will leave blank, as the invoice for each contractor may not be received for several days or even weeks.