10 Replies Latest reply on Aug 21, 2012 3:55 AM by Andy_1

Student data

Andy_1

Title

Student data

I'm a 4th grade teacher in a small district.  Last year I had several spreadsheet with various student data: contact information, notes from speaking with parents, and the largest.. Behavior data. I kept track of student behavior for my building.  By the end of the year, I had over 10,000 behavior entries. So I want to do this on FileMaker. My questions: I was thinking three files: one for student data (names, id, contact numbers), one for teachers (name and what section they teach) and behavior.... Does that sound about right? On my current spreadsheet, I have behavior codes and teachers names as vlookup files.... Can I do this in file maker? Any help would be great. By the way... Self training with FileMaker via Lynda.com

• 1. Re: Student data
          schamblee

I would recommend a table for notes, because it would be easier to track several notes through out the year.

Student data with a relationship to notes

Student data with a relationship to behavior data

Student data with a relationship to teachers

behavior data with a relationship to behavior codes

table1   student data

table2   behavior data

table3   notes

table4  teachers

table5  behavior codes

• 2. Re: Student data
            Andy_1
            That you, that's sort of the direction I was heading.. As for the student data... We keep track of health issues, if students are allowed to be photographed, etc.  should all student data say on one table or a table for medical, allowed to be photographed, etc
            • 3. Re: Student data
              schamblee

Allowed to be photographed would only take one field so it would be fine in the student data table.  Medical would depend on the number of items listed per student.  I would think it would be ok in the student data table also.