5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 7, 2011 7:36 AM by vChen

Sub-Summary not showing up

vChen

Title

Sub-Summary not showing up

Hi,

I'm a beginner with FM and I'm having difficulty creating a summary report.  I want to keep track of staff daily performance and be able to sort productivity by three main criteria -- type of task (ie administrative), then by task, and finally by project.  It seems straightforward, but I can't seem to figure out where the problem is, so the following is how I created my database.

I created two tables with the fields as follows:

Table 1

Date

Staff

Table 2

Task –(drop down value list)

Type of Task –(Calculation field to automatically figure out type when task is entered)

Project –(drop down value list)

Hours

Quantity

SumHrs –(Summary field data type that totals the Hours field)

SumQty –(Summary field data type that totals the Quantity field)

The data entry layout works nicely.  However, when I try to create a report to capture a month's worth of work, the report grabs the grand total without sorting. 

In the report layout, I have a sub-summary part sorted by "type of task", then another sub-summary part below it sorted by "task", and another sub-summary sorted by "project".  I placed the SumHrs and SumQty fields in all of these sub-summary parts but in the preview mode, it only shows one line, which is the grand total.

I can’t figure out what I’m doing wrong.  I made sure the field boxes are not crossing their boundaries in each sub-summary part and I think I defined a break field (Is that when you define the sub-summary part and you click on how you want it to be sorted by?) 

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

• 1. Re: Sub-Summary not showing up
          philmodjunk

Did you sort the records?

Select Sort Records from the records menu and specify a sort that sorts your records by type of task, task, and project.