7 Replies Latest reply on Dec 19, 2012 1:08 PM by BeachedWhale

Subtotaling Calculations

BeachedWhale

Title

Subtotaling Calculations

I've grouped the data by name. There are multiple entries under the same name and they have a calculation field that calculates price with some formula. I want to create a subtotal of the prices under the same name. I tried creating  a field that is a summary total of the calculation field, but when I do add trailing subtotal, it says the subtotal is just the last price for that group. What am I doing wrong?

I'm new to filemaker so let me know if there are other things I should mention so that people can better respond with a solution.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Subtotaling Calculations
          Abhaya

Hi

I'm giving a simple example here and hope you will get your answer from there.Bcoz i'm little bit confused  on your post.

Suppose you have multiple product having its own price. If you want to show these products by their Product Type having total price(by product type as well as whole product ) then please follow these steps.

1) Create a layout(in LIST mode) based on product and put all fields in its BODY parts.

2) Add one subsummary part based on the product type and put it above the body part.

3) Create a summary field(Total product price) that is the total of that product price field.

4) Add another subsummary part based on the product type and place it below the body part and there place this "Total product price" field.

It will sum of all the product's price, subsummary by the product type.

5) Add one grand summary part below the body part and place the "Total product price" on it.

It will sum of all the product price on product table.

Thanks

• 2. Re: Subtotaling Calculations
            BeachedWhale

I think that was what I tried, I can outline my attempt exactly what I did.

1. Created list layout with required fields.

2. Added trailing group by Product type.