7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 7, 2014 2:11 PM by philmodjunk

Sum (if) based on multiple conditions

NataliePiguet

Title

Sum (if) based on multiple conditions

Hi Gents

I am trying to make a cash flow database for my business and I am new to use FM.

I have one table in which I am saving all purchases i.e.:

Unique ID, Invoice Number, Invoice Date, Supplier Name, Invoice Value, Type of Expense

I am also trying to make a yearly report where I can display a summary of all expenses in a table, i.e.: the column names are months and rows are types of expenses, like: Tools, Materials, Equipment. So in theory, I want to have 3 rows 12 columns each of data. Now I assume I need a summary field in my table which will do the calculation. I have been doing a little bit of Visual Basic in it's time years ago on a PC, so i tried to play with the functions and read help files but didn't get far.

If any of you kindly could explain what function I need to calculate how much I have spent for let's say Tools in January I would really appreciate. So a function is needed to look up all invoices with date containing January as month and Type Of Expense "Tools".

Now it would be great to have a drop down list with years somewhere aside so I view the spending for each year ;)

I know I am probably asking much.

Any help would be really appreciated.

Thank you

Nat x

• 1. Re: Sum (if) based on multiple conditions
          philmodjunk

This is a commonly expressed request.

See these two threads for some ideas on how to do it:

Sum_Calculation based on condition

FMP 12 Tip: Summary Recaps (Portal Subtotals)

• 2. Re: Sum (if) based on multiple conditions
            NataliePiguet

Thank you for your reply PhilModJunk

This seems so complicated. Is there any other simple way to do it? I was under an impression you can use something like DCAOUNTA function in Excel. Point the table, and sum based on few conditions?

• 3. Re: Sum (if) based on multiple conditions