1 Reply Latest reply on Jan 8, 2014 9:06 AM by philmodjunk

Summary Calculation help

ChadGist

Title

Summary Calculation help

Hello, I am trying to create a summary field that calculates the sum of another field, but constrains the data to a particular found set based off a match with another field. 

For example, I want to calculate a new total from the ProductCostSummary, but limit that calculation to products whose FactoryField value = "Factory22"

I know this is probably really simple, but I am just getting started with learning how to use calculations. Thanks for the help!

• 1. Re: Summary Calculation help
          philmodjunk

but constrains the data to a particular found set based off a match with another field.

Picky detail: that's not actually a found set of records. I refer to it as a "related set" of records.

There are multiple options for what you want and which to use depends on the design of your database and your report layout.

To get a total from a related set of records, you can use:

1) Sum (RelatedTable::FIeld ) to get the total of Field from the set of all related records. This calculation has to be evaluated from the context of a table that links to these records in a relationship.

2) Define a summary field in RelatedTable that computes the total of Field. If you refer to this summary field from the context of a different related table (such as putting it on the layout based on the other table), it will show the same sub total as 1.

3) You can also use a more general relationship and put the summary field from 2 inside a one row filtered portal. This "display only" total will show the total of the related records that pass the filter expression. Thus you can use one relationship but with a series of different filtered portals to get different subtotals of your related records. These totals, however, cannot be accessed by scripts or other calculations so this sometimes cannot be used.