8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 11, 2014 9:43 AM by philmodjunk

Summary help

PamelaSnyder

Title

Summary help

I am trying to update a database that was originally created in FileMaker5.0 (I know) .

I need help setting up summaries that sort by a chosen field (1) (this already exists for us) and then subsort the unique values from field 1 by another field.  I am NOT a programmer, developer etc.  I am a clinical lab manager.   And cannot make heads or tails of the manual I purchased.  (the missing manual)  It has demo files that are supposed to be downloaded for tutorials, but when I download these files they are not editable. (maybe a firewall issue?)

I'm sure what I'm trying to do is pretty straightforward, but I could really use some pointers.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: Summary help
          SteveMartino

When you download the files, select 'Save' and put them on your desktop.  Then you have to right click the folder and select 'Extract All'.  Then open that file and you will have full access.

As far as your original question, I don't quite understand what you are trying to do.  Could you provide some real world examples, some screenshots and/or a copy of the file with a few dummy records?

• 2. Re: Summary help
            philmodjunk

Specifically, can you explain what you mean by:

subsort the unique values from field 1 by another field.

I can read that several different ways. Also be advised that how you have set up your tables and relationships can greatly affect what options are available when working with "unique values".

I can direct you to a tutorial on summary reports that may help: Creating Filemaker Pro summary reports--Tutorial

• 3. Re: Summary help
              PamelaSnyder

I apologize for my inablility to verbalize what I am trying to do.  my FileMaker speak is poor.

I am trying to summarize the types of testing that our lab is doing in a month by charge and billing method (print field).