1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on Mar 31, 2010 11:27 AM by jhed

Sunday School Family Registration

stkevin

Title

Sunday School Family Registration

I am a beginner and I am working on Mac 10.6.1 and have just downloaded Filemaker Pro 11. I have a database that I created in Filemaker Pro 6. I am using the database locally on my MacBook.

I wonder if I can link multiple children in one family in my Student Record. 

Is there a way to have a family file and have sub files with the children in that sub file. I would want to access the children's information individually at times. 

The smith family has 3 children in the program

John 2nd grade

Joan 4th grade

Betty 7th grade

I need to have John's info appear in the family file as well as the 2nd grade file when I sort the records. Some of the family info would also populate John's record when I sort by grade.

Thanks for any help

Jack

• 1. Re: Sunday School Family Registration
          philmodjunk

Think tables not files.

Two Tables: Families, Children

In Families, define an auto-entered serial number: FamilyID.

Add fields as needed in this table to record data on the entire family such as mailing address, emergency phone numbers, etc.

In Children, define a number field: FamilyID

Add fields such as name, birthday, etc that are specific to that one child.

Link the two tables by FamilyID.

Note 1: A portal to Children on the Families layout can be very useful here. If you don't know about portals, look the term up in Filemaker Help to learn more.

Note 2: You can make a layout that refers to the children records, but also shows fields from the Families table.

• 2. Re: Sunday School Family Registration
            stkevin

Thank You

I will give it a try.

• 3. Re: Sunday School Family Registration
              jhed

I'm having a similar problem.

I'm using FileMaker 10 on a MacBook Pro (10.4.11).