4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 4, 2010 8:11 AM by UncleGeo

System or user DSN not showing up in FMP 11 and Windows 7 64 bit

UncleGeo

Title

System or user DSN not showing up in FMP 11 and Windows 7 64 bit

My setup:

1. FM Pro 11.0v1. In the properties for FMP11 under "compatibility" I do NOT have "Run this program in compatibility mode" checked and no operating system is chosen.I also do NOT have 'run this program as admninistrator" chosen.
      2. Win 7 64bit (I now know it's not certified)
      3. I am not sharing the database across a LAN or Web (except for a MySQL connection with ESS) and I am not using IWP or CWP.
      4. I have MySQL Connector ODBC installed
      5. I have a static IP on cable modem from The Evil Comcast.

About Me:

Though I've been using FM since it was black and white on an Mac Classic, I'm more a power user than developer. I'm a newbie to MySQL but I've made a database and PHP'd it and my site works fine. I'm not afraid to blow around in stuff  to make it dance.

The Good News:

I have an FM database of product listings connected to a MySQL database at a server that feeds my website (in php) so as I update my FM, the MySQL is instantly updated -and I think that's all just fargin magical! This was all set up on this Win7/64 machine with this install of FMP11.0v1 shortly after setting up Win7/64 on a new system hard drive.

My Problem:

Flush with success and feeling cocky, I needed an almost identical setup for a new biz project so I cloned the working FM database and gave it a new name and closed the window for the old db. Then:

• I created a new MySQL database at the server (i.e. totally new and separate FM db and MySQL db -not a separate table off the old MySQL).
      • In Windows Data Sources ODBC, MySQL Connector/ODBC I made a new connection to the new MySQL -test says "Connection Successful!"
      • In FM  "Manage External Data Sources" I deleted the old ODBC connection for the original FMdb that came over in the clone.