4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 14, 2012 10:29 PM by philmodjunk

Tab Controls, Lists and Portals

brodlang

Title

Tab Controls, Lists and Portals

I'm just a novice programmer and learning the ropes with FMP. Hoping you can help me with a couple of answers on basics so I can either find out how to use them or work around them.  I'm using FMP Advanced on Windows 07.

Is there any way I can format or script fields or layouts so that I can navigate with the cursor keys instead of just tab, enter, mouse or control (up/down)?  I use a lot of list layouts.  Depending on the parent table the ctl up/down in the list can change the whole record.

Same question again, but specifically for portals.  If find them to be a great tool, but difficult to navigate. Seems you can only get to the next record by tabbing or mouse.  Control down changes the active record the portal is based on (similar to above).

Finally, can I have a "list" layout on a tab control?

Many Thanks,

brodlang

• 1. Re: Tab Controls, Lists and Portals
          davidanders

A keystroke mapping utility may be able to do this. Although a cntrl - arrow would probably be needed.

Google "windows keystroke macro"

A voice control program may work.  Dragon is often suggested.

• 2. Re: Tab Controls, Lists and Portals
            philmodjunk

What Operating system do you have? Ctrl-up arrow and Ctrl-down arrow move you upd and down through a list or table view of records on a windows system.

Recent versions of the Mac system have interfered with these options, but you can restore them.

From the Filemaker Training Series, Pg 1-16:

Mac OS Lion shortcuts: