3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 18, 2011 2:56 PM by philmodjunk

Tab order for Tab Panels

PeggyCorder

Title

Tab order for Tab Panels

I am trying to set my tab order and have three tab panels for entry of data.  Is there some way to select the next tab panel in the process of my tab order to go from the first tab panel to the second and continue entering data?  Please be very specific with any answers as I am very new to Filemaker Pro and get lost easily!  Thanks for any help.   

• 1. Re: Tab order for Tab Panels
          philmodjunk

There isn't any simple setting you can use to make this happen. You can use script triggers to perform scripts that select specific panels in the tab control. Are you game to tackle something like that?

If you are, please describe exactly what you have in mind. I can think of two ways to interpret what you want here: 1) Pressing tab could move you from field to field and when you tab in the last field in the panel's tab order, it takes the user to the next field in the next panel of the tab control. 2) Pressing a specific key combination brings up the next panel regardless of what field you are currently editing.

• 2. Re: Tab order for Tab Panels
            PeggyCorder

Yes, I am game!  I may be learning it, but I do pretty well with learning all this? 

I have three tab panels with about 10 fields on the first panel.  When I get to the 10th field and press tab, it goes to the first field on the second panel, but I have to manually press the second panel tab at the top to go to that panel.  I would like to be able to tab on the 10th field and it automatically change to the second panel and stop at the first field on the second panel where I then could continue to enter the data on that second panel.  I guess I need very specific instructions to perform scripts as I have not done that before......at least I don't think I have or have not done it knowingly!  ":P)  Thanks for your help.  

• 3. Re: Tab order for Tab Panels