8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 2, 2010 2:46 PM by RichM7

Table 1 and Table 2 Relationships

RichM7

Title

Table 1 and Table 2 Relationships

Hello, I am new to filemaker pro 10.

Question:

How do I get a "new record" that I created in Table1 to show up in Table2?

e.g.,

Table 1              Table2

Names:              Names:       

John Doe            John Doe

John Smith         (The John Smith Record does not appear in Table 2)

I tried to add a new record in Table1 for John Smith, thinking that it would automatically populate in my Table 2, but the new record not show up in Table2. Is there anyway that when I add a new record on a table that it will "automatically" appear in another record? 

I was successful in "creating a relationship" using the graph in Manage Database between my Table1 and Table2, so that whatever I enter in Table1 such as adding an address to John Doe would automatically show up in Table2. However, it seems that I cannot create a new record in Table1 to automatically show up in Table2.

I hope I am making sense since I am new to this world.

Any help or suggestions is much appreciated. 

Thanks,

Rich

• 1. Re: Table 1 and Table 2 Relationships
          philmodjunk

Why would you want two tables to store exactly the same data?

• 2. Re: Table 1 and Table 2 Relationships
            Steve Wright

Im guessing that you are entering records into a layout for Table 1 and want to show ALL records in a portal.

To make it easier to explain, Ill rename these, otherwise talking about tables will get confusing. 

Actual Database Table Name : clients

Relationship Graph Occurrences :

Clients   -   Showing records from clients table

Clients All - Showing records from clients table

You would link 'Clients' to 'Clients ALL' using a Cartesian join ( X

Your layout would show records from the Clients (an occurrence of the clients DB table)

Your portal would Show related records from Clients ALL (an occurrence of the clients DB table)