3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 24, 2010 6:32 PM by caz3000

Table instances - I have no clue what I'm doing

caz3000

Title

Table instances - I have no clue what I'm doing

Hi,

I'm pretty new to Filemaker.  I'm using Filemaker Pro 11 on MacOSX 10.5.

The problem I'm having probably has a simple answer but I can't for the life of me work it out.

I'm creating a database to track investigations.  Some of the tables I'm using are:

PERSON

ALLEGATION

DOCUMENT

Each of these has a many-to-many relationship with each other (eg. one person may be relevant to multiple allegations, and each allegation may involve multiple persons; one document may have been seen by multiple persons and each person may have seen multiple documents; one document may be evidence for multiple allegations and each allegation may have multiple related documents).  I have therefore created the following linking tables:

ALLEGATION PERSON

ALLEGATION DOC RELATIONSHIP

PERSON DOC RELATIONSHIP

The relationships are defined as follows:

PERSON::__kp_PersonID = ALLEGATION PERSON::_kf_PersonID

ALLEGATION PERSON::_kf_AllegationID = ALLEGATION::__kp_AllegationID

ALLEGATION::__kp_AllegationID = ALLEGATION DOC RELATIONSHIP::_kf_AllegationID

ALLEGATION DOC RELATIONSHIP::_kf_DocumentID = DOCUMENT::__kp_DocumentID

DOCUMENT::__kp_DocumentID = PERSON DOC RELATIONSHIP::_kf_DocumentID

In the DOCUMENT record, I have a portal to display records from PERSON DOC RELATIONSHIP, which is supposed to display a list of all the persons connected to that document.  This contains the following fields:

PERSON DOC RELATIONSHIP::_kf_PersonID

PERSON::NameCombined

and some other fields specifying the nature of the relationship.