4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 13, 2009 11:31 AM by mkat

Table Location Advice

mkat

Title

Table Location Advice

I am just learning Filemaker and would like to build a relational database consisting of four tables ( contacts, purchases, inventory, email campaign ).

Are there advantages to having all three tables in one file as opposed to three separate files?

• 1. Re: Table Location Advice
          Jade

Hello Mkat,

There is a methodology called data separation that promotes the use of 2 files.  It's description and advantages can be found here:

http://sixfriedrice.com/wp/an-overview-of-the-six-fried-rice-methodology/#more-228 

This document is really worth reading too: 

White Paper for FMP Novices

http://www.foundationdbs.com/downloads.html 

• 2. Re: Table Location Advice
            mkat
               Thanks. I will review both the methodology and white paper links.
            • 3. Re: Table Location Advice
              philmodjunk

Some basic advantages to keeping all your tables in one file:

1. When you build relationships that link your tables, you will be able to see all the relationships in a single unified view. This is often helpful in understanding how/why your database does or does not function the way you expect.
              2. With multiple related files, your database can fail to function correctly simply because a user renamed or moved one of the files.
              3. If you use Manage | Accounts & Privileges... to set up accounts and passwords to control user access, you will, in most cases, have to set up exactly identical accounts and passwords in each separate file. If you permit a user to change their password and they change it, they'll likely be confronted with a confusing array of password log in dialogs--one that asks for the new password and others that still request the original password as the user has just changed the password for one file, but not the others.