8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 23, 2010 10:03 AM by KenKing

table of "Notes" relating to "Contact" and "Product"

KenKing

Title

table of "Notes" relating to "Contact" and "Product"

Hello folks, 

Some background:  I'd like my db to track Property, Sellers, Buyers, Deals (which brings Buyers/Sellers/Properties together, akin to an invoice).  Each Property has related Notes, and each Contact has related Notes.  

But I'd like to have Notes for a Contact (Buyer/Seller/whatever) that relates to a Property; the goal here being that if Mr. Sammy Seller tells me he'd sell the Empire State Buliding for, I can enter notes.  It wouldn't be appropriate to simply enter notes in Contacts::Notes (bc later I may look at those Contacts notes and not have any idea about which Property the notes are referencing).  Nor is it appropriate to enter notes into Property::Notes (bc sammy may not always own the Empire State Building).  

This is my first attempt at a DB.  I've been doing trial and error, trying to get this to work.  See screenie for my current ER schema.

Any suggestions?

screenshot.png

• 1. Re: table of "Notes" relating to "Contact" and "Product"
          philmodjunk

Define your Notes table with at least these fields:

ContactID
          PropertyID
          Note

Use your Notes table as a Join table between your contacts table and your property table. This will require at least one new table occurrence--likely a new one of Property, to avoid a circular relationship.

I also see a NotesID field in your LineItems table, you can also use the same table to record notes pertinent to a given line item by linking a serial number field defined in LineItems to a separate, matching field you'd add to the notes table. This would require an additional table occurrence of Notes for linking to LineItems.

(Table Occurrences are what we call the "boxes" in the Relationship graph such as what you've uploaded in your first post here.)