3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 2, 2011 11:45 AM by PageWatkins

Table Relations

PageWatkins

Title

Table Relations

To make this simple: I have no experience using FMP or any other database software.

My problem is that I have set up a database with two tables.  These are for contacts and work orders.  The contacts include the company name, contact, and billing information.  How would I go about making it so that when someone chooses the company name from the drop-down menu on the work order form, the billing information automatically fills in?  I have gone to the relationships tab and related the fields, but it won't bring up any info from the company aside from the name when I select it.

Suggestions?

• 1. Re: Table Relations
          philmodjunk

I have gone to the relationships tab and related the fields, but it won't bring up any info from the company aside from the name when I select it.

You should have only one pair of fields that are related, one from each table.

Contacts::ContactID = WorkOrders::ContactID

The ConactID field in Contacts should be an auto-entered serial number field. You could use a name field in each--it seems simpler to set up, but you set yourself up for trouble when you get two contacts with the same name (happens with both people and companies) or you find you need to change the name at some point after you've entered data in both tables for that contact (which can be tricky to do without breaking the connection between your contacts and their associated work orders).