1 Reply Latest reply on May 25, 2012 12:36 AM by GuyStevens

Table Relationship Trouble - I want to auto populate another table with existing data

MichaelThale

Title

Table Relationship Trouble - I want to auto populate another table with existing data

Hi everyone,

First off, I am new to Filemaker and am using a trial version to determine if Filemaker will meet the goals flr my business.  I am not super tech savvy but understand the very basics of FMP.  

So here is the scenario and I will be as specific as possible so that maybe one of you awesome developers can be AS SPECIFIC on giving me an answer :-) 

Right now, I have a parent data base with two fields, Address & Field Rep.  The Address field is populated by an Microsoft Excel file that I import into FMP.  However,  I manually am entering each Field Rep's name into the database giving them an Address assignment.  My end goal is to be able to have a Child table which I will call Property Evaluation Checklist that will automatically be populated by the Address & Field Rep fields, which will then display an aray of evaluation fields.

I can't get the Address & Field Rep fields from (Table 1)  to populate in my Property Evaluation Checklist (Table 2).

I would appreciate any suggestions.

Thanks in advance!

Michael

michael@ozlund.com

relationship_problem-01.jpg

• 1. Re: Table Relationship Trouble - I want to auto populate another table with existing data
          GuyStevens

What you need is a way to tell table 2 what record in table 1 it is linked to.

I hope you made ID fields in both your tables.(If you didn't, no problem, that can be fixed)

An ID field is a number field set to auto enter a serial value.

That way every record has a unique ID.

So if every adress has a Unique ID. You can tell the table 2 the Unique ID you want to link to.

In terms of tables you will get this:

Table 1
          ID
          Address
          City
          Zip
          FieldRep

Table 2
          ID