4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 20, 2015 11:14 AM by TonyArcangelini

Tables won't relate

TonyArcangelini

Title

Tables won't relate

I am creating a database to help us with our weekly inventory and ordering. There are multiple locations that all take inventory on separate tables. On each table there is a field for cups to order. I am attempting to pool all the "Order" entries on a separate table for the purchasing manager to see without having to go to each location and see the quantity but cannot seem to figure out the best way to do this. I attempted to make a joined table but can't get the records to display from the relationship. I am fairly new to FMP and am not sure what I am missing here... I attached a picture of my relationships to clarify. 

relations.jpg

• 1. Re: Tables won't relate
          philmodjunk

Separate tables for each location would appear to be the first mistake.

Use one table for all three locations but with a field that identifies the location. You can then set up reports that show the orders broken down by location using this field rather than three separate tables. This simplifies your data model to just two related tables instead of 4.

What you show should work, however. It just doesn't really look like an ideal design. 3 Portals on the Order_Cups layout should show all records from the related tables. Though I would use a single field in Order_Cups in all three relationships.

In the case of any relationship, the records only match if the two fields used as match fields have the same exact values.

• 2. Re: Tables won't relate
            TonyArcangelini